top of page
RSS Feed

July Favorites: Oils, Skin Care, Make-Up, Books, Apps, Keto Diet

Hey everyone! Well, didn't August just sneak up on us out of nowhere?! I thought this would be a perfect time to share with you some of my favorite things I purchased & tried during the month of July. There is a little bit of everything here. Let's go ahead and dive in. (Stay tuned for a giveaway at the end of this post!)

July Favorites! Photo taken @ Ortley Beach, NJ July 2018 by Bella Cirovic

Skin Care: This product quickly became a favorite the first time I tried it. The SK-II Treatment Essence has been a God send for my sun damaged skin. I suffer with melasma, a common skin problem usually brought on by mega sun exposure. It shows up as dark brown spots on the cheeks, forehead, upper lip and it sucks! I have been super careful about wearing sun screen and hats so as not to instigate an entirely new crop of brown spots to appear anywhere on my face. Well, one day I forgot my hat at home and boom, I now have new patches on my cheek & forehead (rolls eyes to the heavens). I heard about this essence when I watched a skin care video by the actress Jenna Dewan (her YouTube channel is bomb). I immediately ordered a bottle and began using it faithfully morning and night. Within a week I saw my melasma lighten up. This essence is pricey, it's not cheap. I took a chance on it as a last resort before seriously considering a fraxel laser facial, which can cost upwards of $1,200 to take away my melasma. I'm so pleased with the results of this essence that I had to share it with you. This starter kit is so worth the investment if your melasma game is strong and you need help in a major way.

Make-Up: Ok, my absolute favorite item that I purchased was the Fenty Beauty Flyliner in Cuz I'm Black. This liner is so precise and sharp, it glides across my 43 year old lids like butter creating a sharp cat eye. It gets bonus points for not bleeding into my eye wrinkles and for not flaking off mid day. Get yours here.

Oils: Sylvan, Goddess of the Meadow is an oil I created for a retreat two years ago. It is now one of the best selling perfume oils in my collection.

Made with Oakmoss Absolute, Jasmine, Neroli, Vetiver, Sandalwood, & Cedarwood, this oil is a connector to the sun, the summer, and the mossy forest.

The dry down on this perfume oil is sultry & balsamic. As a perfume lover and maker, I can say that I have yet to find a scent quite like this one. Get yours here.

An oil that is not my own: Roman Chamomile by Eden Botanicals. I have been using this oil in a mist combined with Lavender to spritz on my pillow before bed. It's meditative & tranquil vibes combined with the sleep inducing power of Lavender create an magic elixir that has been the cornerstone of my summer bedtime routine.

Books: I am obsessed with the show Sharp Objects on HBO. It was brought to my attention by my friend Sam that there is a podcast that dives into each episode after it airs. After listening to the first two podcasts, I ordered the book by Gillian Flynn. I have read all of her books but somehow missed this one! I'm so into it!

Also on my kindle this month: White Fur by Jardine Libaire. On my Audible: This Body is Not an Apology by Sonya Renee Taylor.

Apps: I have been so into making retro looking videos to share on my instagram stories & page. In addition to the 8mm app that has been around for ages, I have found RAD VHS & Retro VHS. Both are awesome for creating videos with a vintage feel.

Keto Diet: I started the ketogenic diet back in May because I wanted to cut out the amount of carbs and sugar I was taking in. I started researching the diet / lifestyle through the site: ruled.me and it has been a full on learning experience since then. I would definitely point you to that website to begin your research.

-With all of that said, this portion of my favorites may only speak to those of you who are living the ketogenic lifestyle.

- Foods I am loving: I eat two meals a day on keto with a small snack at night. A saving grace has been the Lily's chocolate line. I use the Lily's Dark Chocolate chips in my favorite dessert: 1 tbsp of natural peanut butter topped with whipped cream & chocolate chips. I eat this almost every night. I have also been enjoying the Noosh Almond Butter in Birthday Cake flavor which does taste like birthday cake! This is a great on the go snack with energizing MCT oil in it.

- Recipes I have tried & loved: Keto Butter Chicken by Keto Connect, Keto Jalapeno Poppers by Perfect Keto, Cheese Bread by Kirbie's Cravings (I use Rao's sauce for dunking), and Cinnabon Coffee Cake by Maria Mind Body Soul.

Giveaway: If you have made it this far, thank you! Today I hosting a giveaway on my Instagram page. To take part, you must follow these rules:

1. Follow me @intentionblendsbybella on Instagram

2. Leave a comment on this post telling me your fave of my oils or one you would want to try. Also, tag a friend on this post.

Giveaway ends on Friday 8/3 - I will choose a winner at random. After checking that all rules were followed, I will contact winner via DM & mail out the prize. Giveaway is open internationally.

Thank you for joining me today! I'm not sure if my comment section is working properly but if you see it below, leave me a comment and tell me what some of your favorites were in July.

*Some links are affiliates which means that if you buy something through a link that I shared here, I will make a small commission at no extra cost to you.

bottom of page